LibGuides: English 1A: Background Info

Sources for Background Info

Background information can be very important as you begin your research especially if you are working in an unfamiliar subject area. It can:

Provide a concise overview of your topic
Give you some historical perspective
Help you identify important people in the field
Help you learn the language and terminology of the subject area
Help you narrow your topic
Help you determine if there is enough information available to be able to write a research paper

See recommended sources below that you can use to find background information on your topic.

Encyclopedias and eBooks

Recommended Sources

Selection includes general reference encyclopedias as well as Controversial Issues (Pro/Con) databases for overviews of controversial topics.

Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics.Contains entries from the Funk & Wagnalls's New World Encylcopedia as well as images and brief biographies.
Gale eBooks
Searchable reference sources on all topics. This is a good starting point for your research project. Use this database to get an overview of a topic and identify keywords and topics to identify further research.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context supports virtually any curricular need. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Exclusive Viewpoint pages bring balance and perspective to every controversy using targeted arguments from recognized subject-matter experts and top journalistic sources.
Issues & Controversies
Combines authoritative factual analysis, clear explanations of opposing points of view and numerous special features, so students and other users can quickly grasp the essentials of even the most complex topics. Chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information augment the balanced, accurate coverage of current and historical events.
Global Issues in Context
Integrates news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more to help learners critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world within government, law, health, science and technology, society and culture.

O'Reilly Safari eBooks

READS

First Amendment

Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press, or the right of the people peaceably to assemble and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.

Legal Information Institute (LII)

English 1A

background graphic

Thesis Statement

First Amendment

Sources for Background Info

Encyclopedias and eBooks

Recommended Sources

READS

First Amendment