LibGuides: English 1A: Find Sources --articles

Academic Research Sources

Use this page to help you find credible, authoritative, information sources suitable for college-level research. See steps below for online access. (Scroll down this page)

Guides to finding Peer-reviewed articles in Academic Search Complete

How to limit to peer-reviewed articles

Limiting to peer-reviewed articles in EBSCO databases

Accessing Databases

Access databases from the library's website:

1. Go to the library's homepage

2. Select Find Articles.

3. A-Z list of databases page, click on the database of your choice

4. If off-campus, log in. If you are using SJCC Online Databases, see new instructions for logging in using the Secure Sign-on (SSO)

Best Bets

Best Bets for Research

Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals and indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
Gale eBooks
Searchable reference sources on all topics. This is a good starting point for your research project. Use this database to get an overview of a topic and identify keywords and topics to identify further research.
JSTOR
Full text online back files of core scholarly journals with an emphasis on History and Area Studies (Latin American, Middle Eastern, Slavic, African, and Asian). Coverage begins at the first issue of each journal and usually ends within five years of the current year.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context supports virtually any curricular need. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Exclusive Viewpoint pages bring balance and perspective to every controversy using targeted arguments from recognized subject-matter experts and top journalistic sources.

See full list of databases here.

English 1A

Databases

Home page

Magazines and Journals

databases explained

Academic Research Sources

Accessing Databases

Best Bets

Best Bets for Research