Skip to Main Content

Controversial Issues: Databases for Controversial Issues

This guide will explore books and online resources (ebooks, databases, film, and websites) for exploring controversial issues.

Databases contain magazine, newspaper, and journal articles which can provide current information on your topic. Most full-text articles also include the MLA or APA citation. SJCC Library has over 40 databases for you to use. See all the databases on the A-Z Database list.

Articles can be sent to your e-mail to be read or printed later. If you are accessing  the library databases from home,  use your @stu.sjcc.edu college email address to login.

Where to Search-Some Good Starting Points

Academic Search Complete logo

  • Why Search Here? The most comprehensive database which includes general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases for public, academic, medical, corporate and school libraries.
  • What's included? Academic Search Complete is designed specifically for academic institutions. It is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. It also includes materials in other languages.

Issues

  • Why search here? The place to go to prepare for a debate, discussion, research paper, or persuasive writing assignment.
  • What's included? Explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture..

  

  • Why search here? This database centers on the key social issues of our time.
  • What's included? Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more.

 

Today's Science logo

  • Why Search Here?: This database features thousands of original articles written by scientists and science journalists in easy-to-understand language, based on the most current peer-reviewed journal articles. 
  • What's included?:Coverage spans important advances in biology, chemistry, environmental science, space, physics, and technology.

Films and Videos

kanopy platform logo

Why Search Here?: This streaming video resource offers a variety of socially relevant films and documentaries dealing with contemporary issues.

What's Included? Access to over 50 films.

Films on Demand logo

Why Search Here: A comprehensive, streaming video subscription providing unlimited access to thousands of videos 

What's Included? Access to over forty thousand educational films on a wide range of subjects. Includes Short educational videos, full-length documentaries, interviews, debates, and archival footage are all represented from over 40 producers including BBC Worldwide, PBS, Films for the Humanities and Science, National Geographic, HBO, Intellecom Learning, and others.

Unable to access? Who to contact.

SJCC strives to ensure that people with disabilities have equal access to our programs and services. If anything on this page or guide is inaccessible to you, please contact SJCC.Library@sjcc.edu for support with accommodations.