(1 hour, 5 minutes) 2016
"Agents of Change tells the timely and inspiring story of how successful protests for equity and inclusion led to establishing the first Black and Ethnic Studies departments at two very different universities: San Francisco State (1968) and Cornell (1969)."
Available through the Chavez Library's online database collection, explore African American history by time period. Or, search by keyword. Find readable overviews of different eras, links to related topics or concepts, see photographs, and get suggestions for additional reading.
(1 hour, 30 minutes) Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC)
For more SNCC videos, click here.
"This panel discusses some of the deeper political and cultural currents that fed the flow of political struggle in the 1960s, as well as the movements and institutions beyond U.S. borders that SNCC's ideas helped inform."
(1 hour, 54 minutes) PBS, 2015
"More than 40 years after the Black Panther Party was founded the group and its leadership remains powerful and enduring images in our popular imagination. This will weave together the voices of those who lived this story—police informants journalists white supporters and detractors those who remained loyal to the party and those who left it."
Available online, the Association for the Study of African American Life and History (ASAALH), releases two issues of the Black History Bulletin annually. Focused on teaching and learning, especially for secondary students. The Journal of African American History is published by the same association and is focused on college-level scholarship.
(1 hour, 30 minutes) HBO, 2023
"Charles M. Blow, New York Times columnist and best-selling author of "The Devil You Know: A Black Power Manifesto," sets off across the country on a personal journey. Along the way, he meets with politicians, historians, community activists, colleagues, friends, and family members to test his theory on Black Liberation."
(55 minutes) PBS, 2016
"The series begins at a turning point in American history: the Selma marches and Watts riots that marked a new phase in the black struggle. Gates explores the rising call for Black Power, redefining American culture, politics, and society."
Browse a list of hundreds of famous and notable people, search for someone specific, or explore the slideshow of People of Interest, often showcasing people in current events. You can also learn more about African and Black Americans by filtering your browsing.
(1 hour, 50 minutes) MVD, 2008
Released in 2001, 2013, and 2015, this film covers the cases of the Angola 3, arguing that the Black Panther Party members were arrested, convicted, and imprisoned in solitary confinement for decades due to their political affiliations.
14 episode series from PBS
Each episode is approximately 1 hour
American Civil Rights Movement 1954-1985
(35 minutes) California Newsreels, 1969
Watch this original film created by the Black Panther Party in 1969 in San Francisco. Hear cofounders Huey Newton and Bobby Seale delineate the 10 Point Program and watch student activist video of the San Francisco State University strike of 1968.
 |
Interested in taking an Ethnic Studies class or becoming a Social Justice Studies major? Learn more about the degrees and courses available:
Want to learn more about African American Studies at SJCC from students and faculty? Click here to read more. |
 |
What is Umoja SJCC? Umoja means "unity" and is a learning community for students, faculty, and staff committed to "academic success, personal growth, and self-actualization of African American and other students. With a supportive atmosphere, Umoja SJCC offers mentorship, a Umoja lending library, scholarships, tutoring, workshops, events, trips, and celebrations." Want to join Umoja? Use this link to apply or reach out to the coordinating professor, Dr. Dedrick Griffin. |
Experience the expression of radical joy through the Liberatory Living: Protective Interiors and Radical Black Joy exhibit. Explore the connections between contemporary imagination, beauty, empowerment, and futurity through the eyes of 16 designers and artists.
View the mural and visit the mini museum in Oakland. Click the link to book a guided tour with curator Jilchristina Vest.
Watch original news clips and programs on a variety of topics including coverage of the Black Panther Party, African American Art from 1968-1973, Maya Angelou's 1968 series on African American art and culture, and more!
Explore articles, videos, and recommended sites from Oakland Public librarians specifically on Black history. Then, check out their archival collections available through the Online Archive of California and the Internet Archive. For more Black Panther research, read issues of their newspaper; branch out to the recordings, photos, and posters of the Oakland Black Cowboy Parades of 1976-2018; or explore the San Francisco women's discussion group from the 1980s and '90s Black Women Stirring the Waters.
Visit the museum after February 13th to view their brand new installation. Learn about prominent party members, the Oakland Community School, and the other programs developed by the Black Panther Party.
Search the online collections of this Smithsonian museum, join an online event, or access their archives. Watch a curator talk about specific collections or objects, browse current exhibits, or try out their Constellations feature where you can learn history in the context of individual objects.
Learn about the long journey for civil rights through bite-sized videos from Crash Course: Black American History. Topics include legal cases, famous activists, and political, artistic, and literary movements.
Explore the Black Power exhibit at the Oakland Museum of California. Through photos, objects, posters, paintings, and more, learn about the influence of the Black Panther Party on California history and communities.
