 |
|
(53 minutes)
In partnership with PBS, the Center for Asian American Media (CAAM) presents free films every month "as part of [their] mission to tell diverse Asian American stories and reach the broadest audience possible."
(13 minutes)
5 episode series
(1 hour each)
(42 minutes)
(55 minutes)
(approx. 1 hour)
2 episodes
(33 and 37 minutes)
9 segments
(2 - 5 minutes each)
(4 hours, 15 minutes)
(25 minutes)
This journal focuses on "the Filipino diaspora in the United States as well as highlighting issues facing immigrant groups in general. It covers a broad range of topics and disciplines including activism and education, arts and humanities, health, history and historical figures, immigration, psychology, regional trends, and sociology and social issues."
The open source ASIANetwork Exchange journal "seeks to publish current research, as well as high-quality pedagogical essays written by specialists and non-specialists alike. The journal's editors are particularly interested in publishing articles, book and media reviews that address the needs of the undergraduate classroom."
A San Francisco based magazine founded in 2002, Hyphen aims to feature "emerging artists, thinkers, and doers, not only the few established Asian Americans who'd gotten mainstream approval." Seeking cover more than "celebrity interviews and essays about discovering our roots," Hyphen covers many topics (current events, food, music, literature, and more) with wit. Find back issues here.
Published by the University of California LA, this journal is mostly available for free online. Some articles may be unavailable for free. "After almost five decades, Amerasia Journal has played an indispensable role in establishing Asian American Studies as a viable and relevant field of scholarship, teaching, community service, and public discourse."
This journal publishes work on "Pacific studies with the aim of providing informed discussion of contemporary issues in the Pacific Islands region." Articles cover social, economic, political, ecological, cultural, artistic, and literary topics as well as reviews and short fiction.
This open access, peer-reviewed journal is "devoted to the scholarly discussion of Hmong history, Hmong culture, Hmong people, and other facets of the Hmong experience in the U.S., Asia, and around the world."
AsianWeek chronicled Asian Pacific America from 1979 to 2009. The database provides all issues of this periodical for free, online. Learn about APA history through news, education, and entertainment articles.
The Journal of Southeast Asian American Education and Advancement is an online and free open access interdisciplinary journal. JSAAEA has been published since 2006 and covers research, reviews, and creative works.
 |
Intro to Ethnic Studies was written in collaboration by faculty from various California colleges. In addition to learning objectives, summaries, and glossaries, this text includes discussion questions, journaling or self-reflection prompts, in-class activity ideas, and online class activity ideas. |
 |
Our Lives - an Ethnic Studies Primer was written by faculty at Lemoore College in the San Joaquin Valley. Each chapter lists learning objectives and key terms, as well as an introduction, summary, reflection/review questions, and references. Chapter 5 speaks to Asian Americans, specifically. |
[placeholder for digital artwork]
Click here to see a complete list of titles in the Việt Thanh Nguyễn Asian Pacific American Curriculum Collection.
|
|
An Asian American Theology of Liberation "What does liberation mean for Asians at the core of an anti-Black, settler-colonial empire? Drawing deeply and broadly across disciplines, readers interested in radical politics, political theology, and Asian American history will find this book an important addition to their bookshelves. . . " |
 |
Teaching Oceania series Explore this series of 8 volumes written by The Center for Pacific Islands Studies faculty and available online for free. Concepts covered include introductions to Pacific Studies, health, gender, environment, arts, militarism, and more.
|
|
|
"Established in 1947, the University of Hawai`i Press supports the mission of the university through the publication of books and journals of exceptional merit . . . with a primary focus on Asian, Pacific, Hawaiian, Asian American, and global studies." Access a list of their freely available, full text works here. |
 |
Relative Histories "Asian American family memoirs expand the limits & function of life writing by reclaiming history & promoting community cohesion. . . Identity is shaped by not only the stories we have been told, but also the stories we tell, making these narratives important examples of the ways we remember our family’s past & tell our community’s story." |
 |
Asian Americans and U.S. Law Casebook This casebook contains text from court cases on 12 major topics affecting Asian Americans from the 1800s to the present. Some commentary and links to supporting resources are included. Topic areas include: immigration, discrimination, and prejudice and can provide insight into current events and issues facing Asian Americans today. |
 |
|
"AJSOCAL is the leading civil rights advocate for the Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) community. Rooted in the legacy of our immigrant forebears and fueled by modern advocacy, we remain steadfast in our pursuit of justice." Located in Southern California, AAAJSC works throughout the state and is part of a national group working with other state-level chapters. They work with a range of issues including discrimination, violence, health, and immigration. |
 |
| The Asian Americans for Community Involvement (AACI) group has worked in Santa Clara county since 1973. Initially, the group was founded "to advocate for and serve the Southeast Asian refugees that were resettling in the Bay Area at that time." Over the years, the group has grown to "serve immigrants and refugees of all backgrounds and [their] current programs include behavioral and primary health services, substance abuse prevention and treatment, center for survivors of torture, shelter and services for survivors of domestic violence and human trafficking, senior wellness, youth programs, and community advocacy." |
 |
||||
|
The Asian American Feminist Collective (AAFC) is a New York City-based racial and gender justice group "engaging in intersectional feminist politics grounded within [their] diasporic communities." The collective organizes events, engages in projects connecting communities, posts essays and other writings, and publishes open-source zines. Topics of hosted essays are varied, their current projects focus on Black and Asian feminist solidarity, and their zines are listed below:
|
 |
|
The Asian American Center of Santa Clara County (AASC) is a local organization of Asian Americans working to serve the community. They offer rental assistance, food assistance, immigration resources, and employment assistance to all community members. "With honor, trust, integrity, respect, accountability, empathy and hard work — we stand with all cultures and identities. We support a wide variety of cultures, backgrounds and talents. We hope to provided a variety of services to meet the needs of all people in our region." |
 |
| Grassroots Asians Rising (GAR) "is a national alliance of grassroots organizations rooted in working-class pan-Asian immigrant and refugee communities. . . As an ecosystem of strong grassroots organizations, [they] organize for a world where our working-class immigrant and refugee communities have dignity, safety, and justice." Explore their Racial Justice Toolkit and learn about the organizations they work with here. |
 |
| The local chapter of a national organization, the Japanese American Citizens League (JACL) aims to "secure and safeguard the civil and human rights of Asian and Pacific Islander Americans and all communities who are affected by injustice and bigotry. The leaders and members of the JACL also work to promote and preserve the heritage and legacy of the Japanese American Community." |
 |
|
"The National Association of Asian American Professionals (NAAAP) is a non-profit organization that cultivates and empowers Asian & Pacific Islander leaders through professional development, community service, and networking . . . NAAAP offers a diverse range of professional development programs on the local and national level, engages its membership in community service and organizes professional networking events. These may range from a series of panels, workshops and seminars, and web-based sessions and networking." |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
| Find online exhibits from the Angel Island Immigration Station Foundation including 3D tours, poetry written on Angel Island, or food's connection with civil rights. Share your family's story or hear the stories of others here. | Browse or search a variety of digitized collections including photographs, papers, audio recordings, video, and more. Browse by themes, which collection materials came from, or search your own terms. AAPI related collections include thousands of items in groupings such as the Korean American Digital Archive, Viet Stories, Southeast Asian Archive Documents, and more. | Densho began with the goal of documenting oral histories "from Japanese Americans who were incarcerated during World War II. This evolved into a mission to educate, preserve, collaborate and inspire action for equity. . . as a means of exploring issues of democracy, intolerance, wartime hysteria, civil rights and the responsibilities of citizenship in our increasingly global society." Explore oral histories, photographs, newspapers, and more. | The Digital South Asia Library from the University of Chicago contains lists of books, journals, and links to hundreds of resources including photographs, maps, and historical statistical data. Their hidden gem is the open source digital dictionaries covering 36 languages from Assamese to Urdu. | The South Asian American Digital Archive (SAADA) aims to "ensure that South Asian Americans are recognized as an essential part of the American story" though "documenting, preserving, and sharing stories of South Asian Americans." Check out their digital exhibits of artwork, videos, and personal accounts as well as their virtual events. View their online magazine here. |
