Annotated Bibliographies: MLA Example Image

This is a descriptive walk-through of the above screenshot “MLA English 101 Annotated Bibliography Example 2” which is an example annotated bibliography. In this description, the exact words of the example annotated bibliography aren’t read, the description focuses on describing the order and elements of an annotated bibliography. If you want to read or hear the word-for-word reading of the example annotated bibliography without descriptive comments, refer to the box at the bottom of the page labeled “MLA English 101 Annotated Bibliography Example 2 Text.” Each section of the example image has comment boxes to note and explain the different elements of an annotated bibliography. We’ll start at the top and work our way down the page.

This example begins with a citation. The comments note that it is in MLA style and any information that runs onto a second or subsequent line is indented. There is then a blank space between the citation and the annotation.

The annotation is indented ½ inch – it aligns with the indented portion of the citation – and is double-spaced. The first two sentences address the author’s credibility and authority by explaining her background and previous publications and scholarship. Immediately following these sentences is a brief summary of the main point of the article being referenced. The example uses a direct quote from the article and a comment box to the side notes that this needs to be cited, too, using the proper format for in-text citations. Lastly, there is an assessment of the article’s quality, its usefulness to the writer, and its usefulness to overall scholarship in the field.

Nimmberblit, Griselda. “Flower Images in Fairy Tales since World War II.” Criticism in Contemporary Folk  
              Narratives 9.4 (1989): 71-89. Print.

Griselda Nimmerblit is Professor of Folklore and Mythology at Hogwarts University where she is a leading scholar of fairy tales. She has published several books and articles on the language and importance of flowers in literature. In this article Nimmerblit examines the significance of floral imagery in five different contemporary fairy tales. She argues that flowers have taken on an increasing importance in fairy stories since the end of World War II as a means of the “real world suburban sprawl that has occurred during the same time period” (72). Wildflowers in particular are used to evoke a Golden Age when humankind and nature existed in perfect harmony. Nimmerblit uses logical argument to support her ideas, which are rooted in the Paleo-Verdo theory developed by the Greenman Folklorist. She also establishes some very plausible linkages between her research and the Pale-Verdo-Jaundoists’ theory of weed envy, making this article of great interest to scholars in both schools of thought.

Nimmberblit, Griselda. “Flower Images in Fairy Tales since World War II.” Criticism in Contemporary Folk  

Narratives 9.4 (1989): 71-89. Print.

Comment box here reads: Complete citation in a recognized citation style. MLA style including hanging indent for second and subsequent lines.

Comment box here reads: blank space.

Comment box here reads: Annotation is indented by ½ inches and is double spaced.

Griselda Nimmerblit is Professor of Folklore and Mythology at Hogwarts University where she is a leading scholar of fairy tales. She has published several books and articles on the language and importance of flowers in literature. In this article Nimmerblit examines the significance of floral imagery in five different contemporary fairy tales. Comment box here reads: “Addresses authors background and credibility.” She argues that flowers have taken on an increasing importance in fairy stories since the end of World War II as a means of the “real world suburban sprawl that has occurred during the same time period” (72). Comment box here reads: “Briefly summarizes the main thrust of the article. Properly cites quoted text from the article.” Wildflowers in particular are used to evoke a Golden Age when humankind and nature existed in perfect harmony. Nimmerblit uses logical argument to support her ideas, which are rooted in the Paleo-Verdo theory developed by the Greenman Folklorist. She also establishes some very plausible linkages between her research and the Pale-Verdo-Jaundoists’ theory of weed envy, making this article of great interest to scholars in both schools of thought. Comment box here reads: “Critical assessment of the article’s quality as well as its overall usefulness to scholarship in the field.”